Obama, congratulations on being the first sitting President to support marriage equality. Feels like the future, and not the past. #NoFear

— Lady Gaga (@ladygaga) May 10, 2012

 

@barackobama inspires me once again. True leadership is when you are willing to risk your power and voice so that ALL of ours can be heard.

— Justin Timberlake(@jtimberlake) May 9, 2012

 

Thank you President Obama! Equal/Civil Rights for us all. RT! wondaland.com/2012/05/09/bar…

— Janelle Monae (@JanelleMonae) May 9, 2012

 

thank you @BarackObama for reminding us all that true leadership is not dead.

— Adam Levine (@adamlevine) May 9, 2012

 

Very pleased the President spoke up for human rights and marriage equality today.

— Alicia Keys (@johnlegend) May 9, 2012

 

Honestly, it’s about time! This is great news! @BarackObama!! “I think same-sex couples should be able to get married.” abcn.ws/JfLXgK

— Alicia Keys (@aliciakeys) May 9, 2012

 

Yes! say.ly/JTy3gWL

— Adam Lambert (@adamlambert) May 9, 2012

 

I applaud President @barackobama for affirming that ALL Americans should enjoy equal rights. Historic! I will be a very proud host on Monday

— Ricky Martin (@ricky_martin) May 9, 2012

 

Better late than never!!!! Obama supports same-sex marriage us.cnn.com/2012/05/09/pol…

— samantha ronson (@samantharonson) May 9, 2012

 

YAY Obama!! #EqualityForAll

— Michelle Branch (@michellebranch) May 9, 2012

 

It’s a huge day for America! President Obama comes out in support of same-sex marriage!Congratulations! #love #equality #change

— Tegan and Sara (@teganandsara) May 9, 2012

 

And this is why I love you, President Barack Obama.

— MICHAEL B. LERNER (@_TELEKINESIS) May 9, 2012

 

Proud of Barry Obama for fully endorsing gay marriage! Glad he is finally showing some spine… Let’s get married!

— Yeasayer (@Yeasayer) May 10, 2012

 

I’m having warm feelings towards Obama today.

— sia furler (@siamusic) May 10, 2012

 

And in a statement posted on her website, Cyndi Lauper wrote: “President Obama continues to be a true leader for equality and I have never been prouder to call him my president than I am today. The president’s support of marriage equality gives hope and encouragement to the millions of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender young people who feel ostracized and alone. The words of the president have reinforced that they are worthy of dignity, respect, and love – just like everyone else.

 

 

 

SOURCE: Rolling Stone